jQuery IP250 Session One

jQueryLogoBannerQuick notes after tonight’s session.

Considering that this is first session for this course (first time offered, first night) things went very smoothly. Both the wiki site and the demo site worked well. The administration around WebSpark and WindowsAzure accounts seems have gone quickly. I’ll have to check in with people next week to see how many have actually explored these.

The discussion about “Why is it called jQuery” turned out to be very helpful in terms of revealing students’ prior knowledge about CSS selectors and jQuery syntax.  In descending order of specificity:

  1. $(“_______”) = element
  2. $(“.______”) = class
  3. $(“#______”) = id

jsbin worked really well. Thank you Remy Sharp

Where we left off – Half way through example two with invitation to explore those ideas further and to treat that as homework.

Participants

  1. Assignment One due for next Tuesday
  2. Windows Azure set up account and go explore development in the cloud. Consider using this as your deployment site for your new jQuery pages.
  3. DreamSpark set up your account and download Visual Studio 2012 Pro! (sorry – no Mac version for this).

To think about (me)

  • Wiki issues
    • multiple jsbin embeds in a single page are slow to load
    • multiple jsbin embeds causes a problem in Firefox – focus wanders down the page
    • mediawiki on the main course site is not displaying reference links properly unless the person viewing the page is logged in. (workaround was just to paste the links in again but that’s not really a fix)
  • WebMatrix is working – tighten up the overall experience for people who are not on a Windows platform.
  • Better ways to use WindowsAzure platform
10 thoughts on “jQuery IP250 Session One

  1. Bradut says:

    Hello Jim,
    I found your thoughts very useful, as they summarize what we learned and what we had to prepare for the next class in a concise manner.

    Although I am aware that this is a time-consuming task for you, I would suggest to extend this approach to your other classes if possible.

    Thank you,
    Bradut

    • jimubc says:

      Hi Bradut,
      Thank you. I am glad that you found this useful. I am trying this in other classes too. It remains to be seen if I can sustainably convey value.

      I understand that someone participating in a course my not want to continue her/his participation outside the classroom environment between sessions. Writing follow up notes like this is also asking people to come online and use them and further, to share comments and information with others in the group.

      I hope that others will take a minute a let me know if this seems like a worthwhile use of everyone’s time.

      I am heartened by your reply. Thank you.

  2. tanpatrick says:

    Hi Jim,

    Thanks for the writing this up. It’s a good way of reflecting back on the class. I’m running on Ubuntu so it’s unfortunate that I can’t take advantage of those tools that you mentioned above.

    I also found this website useful when doing the assignment
    http://api.jquery.com/

    And for next class, can you go over the case where the elements are ‘merged’ again? For example, the text of all the elements are combined here:

    var oldText = $(“p”, “#1a”).text();

    Title 1a
    Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud.

    Is using “p:first” the only way to keep them separate?

    Also, I just noticed that this page
    http://dotnet.tech.ubc.ca/CourseWiki/index.php?title=IP250
    takes forever to load in Chrome (but not in Firefox), maybe it’s because of JSBin?

    Patrick

    • jimubc says:

      Hi Patrick
      “And for next class, …” – yes – let’s talk about this tonight.
      “takes forever to load in Chrome” – yes, I just tried it and and I don’t know what is going on there. Firefox, Opera, and Internet Explorer are all fine.
      I wonder if anyone has tried Safari on a Mac.

      • jimubc says:

        Writing from my Mac now, and the course site comes up fine in Firefox and Opera, but not in Chrome or Safari (not surprised about this).

        I think the problem may be a weird interaction between MediaWiki (what I use for the course page) and jsbin.

        jsbin seems okay when I call it outside the MediaWiki environment. For example ….http://dotnet.tech.ubc.ca/jquery/models/jQueryToggle.aspx

        I’m not sure if there will be time to address this today. I’m not sure if there is anyone enrolled in the course who cannot run IE, Firefox, or Opera.

  3. Andy Dunn says:

    I think it’s worthwhile, Jim. I tend not to have much time outside of class for the assignments etc, but it’d be valuable to read a synopsis of your thoughts after a class, and to see comments from peers.

    • jimubc says:

      Hi Andy,
      Thanks for your thoughts on this. I update my notes and course content between each session for every course. I’m hoping that the maintaining the blog doesn’t keep me away from doing that.

      I’ll look forward to everyone’s perceptions of value for the time (everyone’s time) invested here.

  4. […] A few days ago I noted that these issues on the course website.  See notes for updates. […]

  5. […] Referring to slow loading in Firefox – and locking Google Chrome and Safari: […]

  6. Alice says:

    Hi Jim, I also think it is very helpful to have these after class notes. Thank you for your time and dedication.

Leave a Reply

