IP352 Programming Basics Session Two

I hope that you are feeling more confident in your growing understanding of programming.

Here is a fun concept that is related to the work we did tonight. The Rubber Duckie Test.
Rubber Duck

Quick reminder, if you haven’t filled in the questionnaire, please do that now.  Here is the link: Most Important Question

Here’s a shot of the image I wanted to share with you this evening.

I will do a quick note like this after each session. If you use Twitter, please go to http://twitter.com/JimUBC and follow me. I’ll tweet when there’s a new blog post.  You can also bookmark this link for all posts related to this course

Going forward if you want to talk about the course, let’s do it here. I’ll write up a quick blog entry each week, and you can add comments to it. When someone else posts a question and you think that you can help – please jump in and help out.

Assignment:
Please have your portion of the homework done by Monday so that your work is available for others to review. And please look at other peoples’ pages too.

Finally – it would be great if you would do a quick comment here with your view of the most valuable thing to come out of tonight’s session, and if you have suggestions, let’s share those too. Thanks!

 

2 thoughts on “IP352 Programming Basics Session Two

  1. Fred says:

    Good story here with the Rubber Duckie. This is something I struggle with when I have to express the reasoning behind design/decision. So, I guess I’ll get one of those Rubber Duckie for my desk. Thank you for sharing.

    Regarding question, I did open it up in my discussion page for others to gave their input on where is there a use of array in my written instructions. I’ll put it here as well:
    http://dotnet.tech.ubc.ca/CourseWiki/index.php?title=User:Frederic_Blouin

    Finally, for discussion-sake, Jim has strongly advised us not to write anything that could be offending to people reading the blogs/comments, something that ultimately “customers” can see/hear. However, we will occasionally hear him tell that a lot of people will leave stupid comments or give stupid answers to questions that arise (on searches you do on the Internet for example). What is the nuance to be drawn here?

  2. Daniel Ahkong says:

    Hi Jim,

    I think your fun example of the Rubber Duckie test is probably the most valuable thing that we learned in class. Granted we didn’t actually do the Duckie test, but reading over the instructions with a third party really helped with the mindset of “are my instructions clear”.

Leave a Reply

