IP491F13A HTML5 2: The Semantic Web – Session Two Notes

HTML5 logo
Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our second session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our second session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

5 thoughts on “IP491F13A HTML5 2: The Semantic Web – Session Two Notes

  1. Paul O'Brien says:

    I feel the most valuable thing I got out of yesterdays class was the idea of using the Outline function in Word to construct a website. As you mentioned we get stuck into the HTML too quickly without thinking of what we want in a website and where it should go. Using Word will now allow me to get a better understanding of what I want to include in a website.

    In your session two notes on the course wiki there is a section on responsive web. I understand time was against us last night but just wondering if you would be able to run through this topic next week, as I believe this is the where web design is currently at and would like to get an overview of it and perhaps some suggestions for applying it?

    Thanks

    Paul

    • JimUBC says:

      Hi Paul,
      Thanks for your comments. I’m glad that you saw the value in doing the planning outside the constraints of HTML. Remind me next week and I’ll talk about “Describing our problems in the language of old solutions”.

      I’ve pulled the topic “Responsive Design” into Session Three. We won’t get into it in any detail though. We just have time to introduce the topic and put it into context. UBC Continuing Studies has a whole course dedicated to the subject. Responsive Web Design

    • JimUBC says:

      Hi Paul,
      Please see this post for a little more information about creating an outline in Microsoft Word.

  2. Shantala says:

    The most valuable thing for me in class was the overview of javascript. It was just a brief intro but I feel now, I will be able to at least recognize javascript when I see it. And even if I can’t write it, I really appreciated understanding how it works. Likening javascript to CSS made it clearer to me as well. I know now that like CSS, javascipt can be in both html document or an external .js page.

    I really enjoy doing the hands-on stuff, and I’d like to continue doing more of that. I’m excited to try the homework assignment. I hope that we’ll have some time to learn about the canvas tag.

    Thanks!
    Shantala

  3. Rachel says:

    I thought it was great to go over all the Structural Semantic Elements
    it is quite helpful to know them in more detail. I also thought it was great to go over the the work arounds, like modernizr. I am hoping to eventually put all this information to use in building websites.

Leave a Reply

