IP352W14A Programming Basics – Session Two Notes

Consider this picture.
Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our second session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our second session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

13 thoughts on “IP352W14A Programming Basics – Session Two Notes

  1. […] Please read and add a comment to our shared Session Two Notes […]

  2. What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Learning about the concept of polyglot programming and visually seeing where the different classes of programming languages fit in the Big Web picture.

    What did you learn from that?
    Learning just one language is not enough. This re-affirms that my decision to start with a “generic” fundamentals course is right. Hopefully, I’ll get a solid foundation that I can apply across languages and systems.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    I am taking this course to help me in my job as a digital analyst. As a digital analyst, my work affects the database, the server side and the Interactive/Dynamic. The concept of Polyglot Programming helped me identify the gaps in my knowledge and where I need to go from here:
    – on the database side: I am pretty comfortable with SQL, but out of practice. Need to get back to proficient.
    – Interactive: I am a copy/paster in JavaScript. Need to get proficient.
    – Server-side: I need to become more familiar with server-side programming. I will probably always work with programmers on the server-side, but I will be better at putting together requirements if I know what I am talking about.

  3. Carmen says:

    Most valuable thing that happened: Learning what polyglot programming was. I also liked learning about the concept of lateral thinking.

    What I learned: I have a better idea of what languages are best suited for which task. It was also interesting to hear that SQL will soon be a language that no one really has to know too much about, like XML.

    What I will do with that knowledge: After seeing the chart I now have a better idea for what other languages I eventually want to learn (Javascript and PHP).
    And I feel like I could apply lateral thinking to analyzing journal articles that I have to read as a part of my job (research).

    After session 2 , questions I have: I’m still a bit hazy on what procedural abstraction is. Would it be kind of like creating a template [the abstraction] and then generating many different versions using that template?

  4. Courtnae says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    Explaining the difference between Scripting (90’s) and Programming (2k’s)

    What did you learn from that?

    I learned that there is an evolution to programming and that it is still evolving, becoming more elegant and precise.

    What will you do with that knowledge?

    I will always keep it in mind that web tech. is constantly evolving, that the business’s nature is change.

    • Courtnae says:

      I want to know when we will get to do some programming?

      • JimUBC says:

        Hi Courtnae,
        When you have finished the Application part of this week’s assignment (where you apply the concepts to the instructions you wrote in the first assignment), you may come to a different perception of programming, and whether or not you have done some.

  5. Vanessa Legazpi says:

    What did you think was he most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    Learning the concept of polyglot programming.

    What did you learn from that?

    As a person with little knowledge about programming, I learned that different programming languages can be used for developing individual applications.

    What will you do with that knowledge?

    I will be mindful of the different types of languages for the remainder of the class and any instances where I may run into some sort of situation where my knowledge of programming may need to be used.

    Now that we’ve had our second session, what do you want to know?

    As Courtnae mentioned above, I wanted to know when we will actually be doing some programming as this will help me visualize programming languages.

  6. JimUBC says:

    Hi Vanessa,
    Programming is much bigger than coding. We haven’t done the coding part yet, but we are already well into other aspects. I hope that you will get a sense of that as you are doing this week’s assignment.

  7. Liz Gosselin says:

    Most valuable thing I learned last Wednesday night was the visual of an ice cube tray as an array. That has now been cemented in my brain and will help me keep my variables and arrays distinct.

    I’m now curious as to which first language we will get our feet wet?

  8. […] go back to the course web site to remind yourself what we did in session two. Then return to the Session Two Notes and leave a […]

  9. pamelakimlee says:

    I didn’t get a chance to ask this. It was from the first reading “7 habits…:. What is unihabitable code?

    • JimUBC says:

      Keep it Clean

      The key to keeping your house/condo/apartment clean is to spend a little time cleaning it every day, or at least every week. If you wait until your abode is an unsightly mess, it’s just too much damn trouble to clean it all up and you end up just doing a halfhearted job. Or your hire a cleaning service.

      Assuming you don’t have the luxury of hiring someone to come in and clean up your code every week, you should periodically inspect your code, sweep up accumulated hard-coded numbers, outdated comments, misleading function names, or you’ll inevitably end up with uninhabitable code that’s embarrassing to show anyone else. And if you’re not embarrassed, well, you should be.

      unfit or unsuitable to live in or with; “unlivable substandard housing”

      http://www.thefreedictionary.com/uninhabitable

  10. Jennifer says:

    Week 2 notes:
    The most valuable thing that happened for me in the 2nd class was the dawning realization of how open and collaborative is the programming process. I’ve beginning to see how it permeates everything. I work with online learning systems, and looking through the supporting documentation or doing searches for how or why to do something, I find that the collaborative forums and their various threads are easier to read now (that I have an idea of how it was built and how people contributed). It will take some practice getting used to the online community and contributing, but it’s like doors to a whole new world opening.

    I also liked the scripting vs. programming “house building” analogies and the history over the past few decades.

    For some reason, it also got me thinking of things like the Hubble Telescope. I heard a news clip relatively recently where someone comments that the memory in the Hubble computers is so limited by todays standards that the coding sent to it has to be so precise, and kept to a minimum—which is a big challenge for current programmers. I don’t’ recall the source or the specifics, but I find it fascinating to think about the logistics of it.

Leave a Reply

