IP352S14A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Two Notes

Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our second session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our second session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

4 thoughts on “IP352S14A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Two Notes

  1. Lauchlan says:

    Personally, the most valuable things I learned Wednesday were the internet technology and programming concepts overviews. I came into this class to direct my learning so I know what to aim for next, this was exactly what I have been looking for. Thanks to those overviews, I’ve got a general idea of what does what, which is a great step in the right direction. I’m sure we’ll keep learning so I will know more about the differences, functions and abilities of each language.

    I’m not sure what we could do better. Maybe less group work/homework review, but because none of us did it properly online, I definitely understand why we had to spend class time doing that (plus, I’ve never been a fan of group work in classes so that may just be me). I’m sure I’ll criticize more harshly next time.

  2. Sam Liu says:

    The mostly valuable thing is the difference between scripting and programming, which is compared with duplo and lego.

    I have learned that scripting can build the structure of a program, and programming can make the program more detailed.

    I believe both scripting and programming are important for a program. But depend on the particular program or certain part of a program, I will focus more on either scripting or programming.

    I want to know how scripting and programming collaborate with each other.

    I like the pace of course, and all the examples in the course. It is easy to understand.

  3. Andrew says:

    Understanding the difference between stateless and stateful helped me view many daily processes differently. My car has many stateful and stateless examples. While turning the steering wheel will always result in a stateless response, the engine computer would adapt and compensate based on how i drive in a stateful manner.

    Using duplo and lego as an analogy for scripting and programming has helped me better understand the core differences a bit more about how each type would be more applicable.

    The class feels like time well spent, thank you.

  4. johannapani says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    The most valuable thing I learned at session two was the ability to understand the concepts of Normalized vs. Denormalized, and Stateful vs. Stateless. I thought the metaphors were key in the learning curve of these concepts. It would have been extremely difficult for me to grasp the concepts of each of these terms without the metaphors of the pizza, soup or legos. Another key thing I learned was to be very careful when I copy and paste! Rather, it is better to REFER back to the original code. This was key for me to learn because I would have normally just cut and paste, and then probably had to change all the documents when an error arose, as opposed to just referring the code to the original code and having just to fix that. This knowledge will save me time, help other people who may have to view/change my code, and generally make it clearer and easier to understand where the errors are and how to fix them.

    I think as we proceed along this learning curve, the continual use of metaphors is a great idea, and highly recommended. I know when I was doing the homework for the terms (variable, array, sequence, etc), that my understanding of these concepts weren’t solidified until I used these words in an everyday example. By comparing concepts to an everyday idea, it makes is a LOT easier to grasp and understand. Thank you Jim for thinking of this!

    I have no questions or suggestions on how to improve the second session. I thought it was very informative and easy to understand. Well done Jim!

Leave a Reply

