IP489S14A – HTML5 Crash Course Session One Notes

Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our first session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you in this session?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

6 thoughts on “IP489S14A – HTML5 Crash Course Session One Notes

  1. Highlights / Metacognition

    ## Q. What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    A. The most valuable thing that I learned was that scripts are interpreted by a third-party application on a web server that derives an HTML page for a browser to interpret.

    ## Q. What did you learn from that?

    A. This taught me the value of scripting languages because they are used when additional information is sent from the web browser, which leads to a richer and better web browsing experience by the user. For example, the location of the user can be sent to theweathernetwork.com to make their weather location load automatically. Perhaps these better experiences can lead to a better retention rate and acquisition of users who visit the website, or it allows the business running the website to allow unique and attractive services.

    ## Q. What will you do with that knowledge?

    A. Since I see the value in learning scripting languages that offer better experiences and services to web users, I will consider learning scripting languages.

    – See more at: http://dotnet.tech.ubc.ca/CourseWiki/index.php?title=IP489#Session_One

  2. Victor says:

    1. What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you in this session?
    So far, discussion of the idea of the Semantic Web.

    2. What did you learn from that?
    The idea of the internet “becoming aware” of its own purpose (via search browsers, proper coding), and using that to have it do more to create connections… it reminds me to think of the Internet as something new that develops alongside humans. It’s not static.

    3. What will you do with that knowledge?
    I will make sure that I develop my websites so that it’s easiest for the Internet (and search engines?) to read and know their content… ’cause I don’t want to be left out (and neither do my clients).

  3. grmdgs says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you in this session?
    Discussing the web stack was really nice. The history of how HTML5 became what it is and how decisions are made on those levels are neat as well.
    What did you learn from that?
    Microsoft is not actually evil on purpose but has reasons for being the odd one out. Abstraction is easy way to put a name to a process.
    What will you do with that knowledge?
    Speak at a higher level and make decisions on techniques with a broader awareness.

  4. aanikh kler says:

    •What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you in this session?
    – Learning the history behind HTML and figuring out everything that actually happens behind the scenes for it to work

    •What did you learn from that?
    – I learn ‘t to appreciate how the world of technology and browsers/servers actually work.

    •What will you do with that knowledge?
    – I will put that knowledge forwards when continuing to work with HTML

  5. Christina says:

    •What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you in this session?
    Learning the history of HTML5 and the web in general and how it came to be.
    •What did you learn from that?
    It sets up the background for HTML5 before diving into learning more about it. Now I also understand why it’s not referred to as simply HTML.
    •What will you do with that knowledge?
    Throughout this course, I will keep in mind that HTML5 is merely HTML but with new and powerful features implemented from learning how HTML has been used.

  6. Andrew says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    Q. What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you in this session?

    A. I became confused about JQuery and Modernizr, which led me to investigate how Modernizr works. Although I ran coded Modernizr to run on my ’00’ webpage, I tried to use the ‘if’ and ‘else’ commands in the body of the page with some added script, but I did not get it to work. It is a good thing that I became confused, as this is a starting point of understanding much more.

    What did you learn from that?

    This leads me to wonder what syntax I have to use to get Javascript to function properly, and what some of the most basic functions to experiment with Javascript are. Any suggestions people?

    What will you do with that knowledge?

    My knowledge will lead me to continue to experiment through trial and error with the coding, until I understand the syntax. Then I hope that I can build upon this knowledge quite easily until I know the basics of Javascript.

    Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?

    I want to know the basics of Javascript so I can get modernizr to work.

    What could we have done better?

    We can talk about the syntax of Javascript. It seems much more meticulous than HTML5, and it is hard to tell where you are going wrong and where you are going right.

Leave a Reply

