IP352F14A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Three Notes

Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our third session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

6 thoughts on “IP352F14A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Three Notes

  1. jencrothers says:

    *What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?*
    I appreciated getting into the finer details on lots of concepts. Analogies are very helpful to me but they often break down at some point and I can get confused.

    *What did you learn from that?*
    Self-awareness that I like to fully understand core concepts.

    *What will you do with that knowledge?*
    Continue to pursue an appropriate depth of knowledge. I don’t always need to know all the details on everything but sometimes I do to be able to move on.

    *Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?*
    I’m keen to do the homework and play around more with the code to make sure I understand it.

    *What could we have done better?*
    Can’t think of anything specific.

  2. Remy Vaillancourt says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    “I really appreciated to learn more about the Variables, Arrays, sequence. Also to see different kind of programming like HTML and Javascript”

    What did you learn from that?
    “Well, those concepts are complementary to the web programming concept. It is very complex at the same time.”

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    “It clarify the sequence of programming, it will be more clear when I will have this kind of conversation with a programmer.”

    Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
    “I would like to learn more about CSS and Javascript, how do they interact with each other.”

    What could we have done better?
    “I think it is still a bit confusing to know when are we going to use these new terms and in what context.”

  3. Maga says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Seeing the examples of JavaScript.

    What did you learn from that?
    I know that what we’ve seen in class were just very simple examples of JavaScript but they made me feel a bit better about programming languages. Perhaps they are not as scary as I had imagined them to be 🙂

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    Hopefully I will at some point start learning one of the programming languages…

    Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
    I can’t think of anything specific but seeing more examples of programming languages would be interesting.

    What could we have done better?
    I find it difficult to take notes in class but perhaps it’s the nature of this course?

  4. What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    The big thing for me and the most valuable was how we went over some of the computer language terms and their definitions in more detail. Bringing a bit more light and better understanding to the words. Such as an Array. Coming from an industry where an Array can mean something entirely different than what you originally thought it was can be confusing. Tonight’s class showed us a valuable lesson on the differences of some of the words out there related to the programming and how quickly definitions for some words can change. I’m glad we went over this in class. It gave me a better understanding in general of what it was.

    What did you learn from that?
    It’s important to remember the context of what your reading and what it specifically relates too in order to properly understand it.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    Sometimes definitions aren’t enough of an explanation and you need examples of it in order to make better sense of it.

    Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
    I would like to know more code and how exactly it is written on the page? Is there a template we can go by or do we have to start from scratch?

    What could we have done better?
    I really liked how we went over the definitions of the programming words. It really helped get a better grasp on things. I hope we can continue doing this the rest of the class.

  5. Andrea says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight? Reviewing the definitions in class was tremendously helpful. Although we did find them out for our exercise, I was still hesitant as to whether or not I fully understood what I was writing haha. The review and explanations were super. Also, I was not aware that storyboarding websites was a thing! But it totally makes sense to do that!

    What did you learn from that?
    Storyboarding my design prior to beginning coding would be the wise approach to building a website.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    Plan ahead. Although I might think big, I will need to narrow the focus enough to make everything attainable, and the storyboard will really help with that.

    Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
    I’m looking forward to revisiting jsbin with the class and also learning about more programming languages and how they can connect.

    What could we have done better?
    I felt like the javascrip intro was a bit rushed, like perhaps we started a bit later than expected and it was very fast and then it was time to go.

  6. James Chan says:

    (please excuse this being so belated)

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    The introduction of the basic concepts of programming.

    What did you learn from that?

    I learned about arrays, variables, iteration, conditional statements, strings, integers, and some of the slight differences in how you code some of these concepts in different programming languages.

    What will you do with that knowledge?

    This will have an immediate impact on how I view code I work with.

    Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?

    I would like to go through a more complicated, real life example of a javascript for instance, and understand how everything works together.

    What could we have done better?

    Nothing.

Leave a Reply

