IP352F14A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Five Notes

Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our fifth session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our fifth session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

6 thoughts on “IP352F14A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Five Notes

  1. Jay Seabrook says:

    Q: What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    A: Going into more depth on the distinction between a Class and an Object / the definitions of Encapsulation, Properties, Methods, and Polymorphism. They were a huge focus of this class so this is naturally what comes to mind. I still felt like there were several possible right answers for each of them… look forward to seeing how others in the class change their definitions as I could use help on this.

    Q: What did you learn from that?

    A: Helped to clarify the definitions for me, they seem to be the cornerstones of programming thus the attention. Again, not sure I quite have them yet.

    Q: What will you do with that knowledge?

    A: It’s hopefully helped increase my understanding of the key fundamentals of programming.

    Q: Now that we’ve had our fifth session, what do you want to know?

    A: On average, how long do you think it take someone to go from being a rookie coder to being proficient at coding— if they did it for say 2 hours a day until they were good at it?

    Q: What could we have done better?

    A: All good.

  2. Andrea says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Understanding the terminologies and seeing the hierarchy on the board and how object oriented programming is actually quite similar to biology. It was useful for me because I’ve always been into biology and it helped me grasp the concepts easier.

    What did you learn from that?
    I kind of see that programming truly is building and their are so many levels to it. It’s never “just coding”.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    It will help me know where to look if there are errors in my coding.

    Questions?
    It was neat to see the similarity to biology, and it leads me to wonder if some of the terms (class or inheritance for example) are actually derived from their initial use in a biological context.

    Now that we’ve had our fifth session, what do you want to know?
    What could we have done better?
    Poutine for everyone! :p

  3. jencrothers33783523 says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    It was only a small thing but I did not know that if you were the person that wrote the things inside the function brackets that you were the author(s) of the language. That was a huge revelation for me.

    I liked doing the practical example at the end and trying to figure it out before we worked through it. (I didn’t.)

    What did you learn from that?
    I’m assuming it’s one of those things that is so obvious to someone who knows that they don’t realise how unobvious it is to someone who doesn’t know. Sometimes people are arrogant about their knowledge and other people’s lack of knowledge. “You must be an idiot if you don’t know X.”

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    Last week I told a co-worker that we can tell if the bathroom door is locked because the lock slit is up and down rather than left and right. She’s worked there two years and never noticed. I couldn’t believe she’d never noticed but I recognise that I’m the kind of person who does notice (and remember) things like that. But it’s a fine line between helping and teaching and being an annoying smartass…

    Now that we’ve had our fifth session, what do you want to know?
    I’ve decided that I’m interested enough to explore programming further but I’m not sure what to do next. Another in-person short course? An online course (EdX, Khan Academy, Code School, so many options…)? Go back to school and study computer science? Teach myself by reverse engineering things and hacking away? The best way to proceed no doubt depends on what I want to do at the end but I don’t know yet. Some suggestions of paths would be good.

    What could we have done better?
    I don’t think we needed to spend as much time on objects and methods in the browser, document, and navigator as we did. It was interesting to see it but once we’d worked through a few examples I lost the point of what we were trying to achieve.

  4. Remy Vaillancourt says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    I finally understood the basic of Javascript and most of the elements I try to understand during last week assignment. We discuss good examples and it was more clear what is a methods and a polymorphism

    What did you learn from that?

    I learn how to do simple javascript programming which was very helpful, because because I could not understand the meaning of all those encapsulation and variables.

    What will you do with that knowledge?

    This knowledge will be very practical, because I have been try to do programming with a google spreadsheet for months but I could not understand the javascript language. Now it will be way easier for me to try to understand the different options google spreadsheet offered with javascript.

    Now that we’ve had our fifth session, what do you want to know?

    I would like to explore other forms of programming language like PHP.

    What could we have done better?

    I think we may have spend too much time on examples of different Javascript scenario. At some point I lost concentration and focus.

  5. •What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    I really liked how we brought the definitions of Encapsulation, Properties, Methods, and Polymorphism into more context by using a more hands on approach during class. Especially the aspect of Encapsulation and breaking it down into more laymen terms for us using the props. Of course being the centre of attention isn’t normally my strong suite but perhaps being up there helped me understand it a bit more.

    •What did you learn from that?
    Knowing the definitions is one thing, but actually comprehending what it is they actually do is another and I think I am finally understanding it a lot more.
    •What will you do with that knowledge?
    Of course the knowledge gained here will be applied to how I write programs and how I read code. Hopefully this will help me be a better web designer.
    Questions?
    •Now that we’ve had our fifth session, what do you want to know?
    I still have a long ways to go. I’m guessing it will be years before I can actually write any good code that really does something amazing. Just like learning a new language, computer language isn’t much different. Learning the entire library of computer language vocabulary is going to take time.
    I want to learn more vocabulary for coding.

    •What could we have done better?
    I enjoyed the class, so I’m not sure anything can be done much better,

Leave a Reply

