IP352F14A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Six Notes

Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our final session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

5 thoughts on “IP352F14A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Six Notes

  1. Remy Vaillancourt says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    It was nice to discover the microsoft environment for developing web page with Azure. I only knew the dreamweaver version and never explore this microsoft software.

    What did you learn from that?

    I learn basic Java script programming, which was nice because I could finally apply the knowledge I gain during last week homework. It was nice to see all that programming being applied on real webpage.

    What will you do with that knowledge?

    It will be a good base for my introduction to the Java script course which will start soon.

    Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?

    I’m more curious about where are we going to apply all the knowledge I got during those classes in real life. I mean in which occasion in my next programming career will I apply variables, sequences or Iteration.

    What could we have done better?

    I don’t think we could have done something better because it is a course where you overview a few subjects. The problem is that I am very curious and I like to know everything about what I learn so for me to only learn the basic of something is very annoying.

  2. Jay Seabrook says:

    Q: What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    A: Playing around in Visual Studio and gaining an idea of how web forms and websites can be built was interesting. It was nice to see coding in affect.

    Q: What did you learn from that?

    A: The way that the program prepackaged packets of code was cool, I liked the intuitive features of that program, didn’t know these existed in a programming environment.

    Q: What will you do with that knowledge?

    A: It made programming less intimidating to me… I’m not going to go out and start building websites but was good to see in action, that program didn’t look like it was completely overwhelming to grasp.

    Q: Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?

    A: Speaking to the lead developer that I often work with on projects for the businesses I’m involved with, I asked him which coding language would be most useful for me to learn based on what the majority of our tools are structured off of. He said PHP… what would your recommendation be for the best course to take on that? (Thanking you in advance).

    Q: What could we have done better?

    A: This session seemed a bit rushed and I know a couple of students fell behind when we were jumping around in visual studio. My recommendation would be to slow it down a bit and maybe drop some of the content in this session.

    Thanks again for everything!

  3. Q: What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    A: I would have to say the hands on learning of JavaScript and using Visual Studio. Seeing the code first hand gives more of a solid foundation of what it is we are all trying to learn.

    Q: What did you learn from that?

    A: I thought it was great how as we were going over JavaScript, the elements of it related back to all the terms/definitions we learned in class. Final fitting the last piece of the puzzle so to speak.

    Q: What will you do with that knowledge?

    A: Given that I somewhat have a grasp on what to expect now for programming, I hope to take the mechanics I’ve learned in class and set my mind in motion. Having this knowledge will hopefully give me a leg up when I start my Adobe Dreamweaver course next week and my CSS course the month later.

    Q: Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?

    A: Could I have done any better? I’m not quite sure I could, but I do know I did my best and that’s all that matters to me. Crossing my fingers for a great mark 😉

    Q: What could we have done better?

    From beginning to end I really liked the format and what you brought to class, I’m not sure I would change anything beyond maybe more interaction with reading and writing code. I know we did this on the last day but maybe we could have started a day sooner.

    All in all, it’s a great course and I really enjoyed coming to class! You definitely made it fun! Thanks for that!

  4. Maga says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    The best part was the hands-on experience with Visual Studio – it was really interesting and encouraging.

    What did you learn from that?
    That IDEs such as Visual Studio are really helpful when coding and can (probably) make learning to code easier.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    I will try to explore VS in more details.

    Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?
    What are the best resources to use when starting to code? For example is codecademy (www.codecademy.com) a good place to start or is it better to take a course?

    What could we have done better?
    I wish we started working with the Visual Studio earlier on in the course.

  5. jencrothers33783523 says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    It was interesting to see Visual Studio. My experience with HTML/CSS has been hand coding. I used Dreamweaver in the early days and found it cumbersome and irritating. Maybe it’s a good tool now but it put me off using tools like that in general. I preferred to just know all the code myself and look things up when I couldn’t remember. Having seen Visual Studio I am less skeptical of using a tool like an Integrated Development Environment.

    What did you learn from that?
    Don’t use outdated experiences to make judgements.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    Consider using tools that might help me work more efficiently.

    Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?
    Same questions as last week — I don’t really know what to do next in my exploration of programming. I’ve signed up for CS50 from Stanford on EdX and I’m doing a Mathematica short course in a couple of weeks and I’m going to keep poking around trying out different things till I work out what interests me most.

    What could we have done better?
    There isn’t time to address everyone’s homework in class but it would have been good if there was some feedback on the wiki. I’m not clear whether my work was right or mostly right or completely off base. I *think* it’s right but not sure.

Leave a Reply

