IP356F14A JavaScript – Session One Notes

Consider this picture.
Learning CycleJavaScript logo

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our first session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

18 thoughts on “IP356F14A JavaScript – Session One Notes

  1. Rie says:

    Highlights / Metacognition
    •What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    – about fundamentals of JavaScript/Characteristic of JavaScript

    •What did you learn from that?
    -I shouldn’t add extra spaces in the
    •What will you do with that knowledge?
    -When I write a JavaScript code, I will make sure I do it correctly
    Questions?
    •Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    -More into practical stuff (like how to write the code)
    •What could we have done better?
    -It’s a great session!!

  2. Amy Zhu says:

    •What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    -having a visual of how JavaScript fits into web development
    •What did you learn from that?
    -learned syntax and high level overview
    •What will you do with that knowledge?
    – apply it in practice when developing pages

    Questions?
    •Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    – writing JavaScript and putting it into practice

    •What could we have done better?
    – perhaps have every student do a brief introduction of themselves including their background or reason why they are taking this course

  3. robertrleung says:

    Can you show us examples, of sites that we are likely to be familiar with, where JavaScript is utilized effectively?

    If I am creating an e-commerce site, for what would I use JavaScript? Would it be used for user login?

    You mentioned that there has been a resurgence in the popularity of server-side scripting, why and for what?

  4. James Chan says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    It was interesting hearing about the DOM

    What did you learn from that?

    How to access objects in the DOM

    What will you do with that knowledge?

    Hopefully use it to customize a webpage

    Questions?
    Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?

    More manipulation through javascript

  5. Rod Monk says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    Rod>> I learned something negative tonight, that is, what JavaScript is NOT for (negative knowledge is often useful stuff); specifically: JavaScript, although mathematically capable, is not intended for heavy-duty mathematics,but rather for immediate and fast validations and light-weight client-side aids of information for the user.

  6. Madeline G says:

    Hi Jim,

    Seeing some of the JavaScript code and learning about what it is and some of its characteristics were the main takeaways for me.

    As a complete beginner to JavaScript, I learned a little bit about how to recognize it and some of the properties that it can use.

    I would like to learn how to understand JavaScript so that I am able to, at least, edit code and hopefully write some as well.

    I would also like to learn about the types of applications JavaScript can perform on webpages.

    If it is possible to arrange to complete the sign up processes for the websites in advance, the use of class time would be a little more efficient.

    Thanks and see you next week.

    • JimUBC says:

      Hi Madeline,
      In terms of applications – when you typed in your name in the student homepage maker form and then the page generated all the code for you Madeline_…..00.html page – that was done in JavaScript. On the course home page, all the tabbed interfaces are done in JavaScript, and the scrollable table of contents in the left panel is also done in JavaScript.

      Thanks for you thoughts on the sign-up processes. With our strict rules regarding safeguarding student information I cannot create the accounts in advance.

  7. Albert says:

    •What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    – learning a little about the history of javascript and seeing mindmaps used as an effective teaching tool

    •What will you do with that knowledge?
    – maybe i’ll use mindmaps for wireframing

    Questions?
    •Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    – i wonder how much javascript is acceptable in a php site

    • JimUBC says:

      Hi Albert

      i wonder how much javascript is acceptable in a php site

      These technologies are NOT mutually exclusive or detrimental to each other. There’s no particular reason to assume that there is a threshold of acceptability with respect to the degree to which you use one in the presence of the other.

  8. Adam says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight? Discovered how important JS is to dynamic webpages.
    What will you do with that knowledge? Try to incorporate JS and use it more.

    Questions?

    Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know? I’d like to write some in-class examples.
    What could we have done better? Very interesting so far!

  9. Alex says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    -getting to know the basics of what Javascript can do. The examples on the course page was interesting.
    What did you learn from that?
    -basic language syntax, how Javascript can manipulate variables on a webpage
    What will you do with that knowledge?
    -create websites using Javascripts!

    Questions?
    Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    -more examples of Javascripts being used on the web.
    What could we have done better?
    -The glitch with Webmatrix could have been avoided.

  10. Qi Liu says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    The most valuable thing was “The results you get are not always the results you wanted”.

    What did you learn from that? and What will you do with that knowledge?
    To get the result I expected, I have to program more carefully, and let the interpreter interprets the program in the way I want to get the expected results.

    Questions?

    Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    I want to know specifically what JavaScript can do and when I can use it.

    What could we have done better?
    It seems like a great course.

  11. What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight and what did you learn from that?
    • I learned the origins of Javascript and had the DOM explained to me in a way that I understood.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    • I will go forward in this class with a solid foundation to grow from.

  12. Remy Vaillancourt says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Finally being in my first JavaScript class was very pleasant for me, because we talk a lot about it during the course Programming Mindset and I could finally practice. I don’t think one thing was most valuable because it is only the first class, but I’m sure it will be after the second class.

    What did you learn from that?

    I learned that JavaScript is a very complex programming language and is not very intuitive. It does what you tell it to do such as adding numbers but will not understand what to do with it you are more specific.

    What will you do with that knowledge?

    First of all I will try to understand more about this language because so far I don’t feel comfortable applying my knowledge.

    Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?

    I can’t say what more do i want to know so far, because I feel I don’t know anything yet. But I’m sure it will be easier for me to put some more question here after I have done my first assignment.

    What could we have done better?

    I think it would be nice to look at some popular website who use JavaScript language so I can visualized better what am I learning.

  13. Remy Vaillancourt says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Finally being in my first JavaScript class was very pleasant for me, because we talk a lot about it during the course Programming Mindset and I could finally practice. I don’t think one thing was most valuable because it is only the first class, but I’m sure it will be after the second class.

    What did you learn from that?

    I learned that JavaScript is a very complex programming language and is not very intuitive. It does what you tell it to do such as adding numbers but will not understand what to do with it you are more specific.

    What will you do with that knowledge?

    First of all I will try to understand more about this language because so far I don’t feel comfortable applying my knowledge.

    Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?

    I can’t say what more do i want to know so far, because I feel I don’t know anything yet. But I’m sure it will be easier for me to put some more question here after I have done my first assignment.

    What could we have done better?

    I think it would be nice to look at some popular websites who used JavaScript language so I can visualized better what am I learning.

  14. Qi Liu says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    The most valuable thing was that when programming JavaScript, the results you get are not always the results you wanted.

    What did you learn from that? What will you do with that knowledge?
    I think I have to program JavaScript more carefully, and make sure the interpreter interprets my program in the right way to get the expected the results.

    Questions?

    Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    Maybe more specifically when and where to use JavaScript.

    What could we have done better?
    I left a comment on Oct. 23 Thursday, and It disappeared. So I guess I have to write it again.

    • JimUBC says:

      Hi Sam,
      Sorry – I just noticed that the comments that I had approved on my phone didn’t actually go live. This shouldn’t be a problem going forward.

  15. Albert says:

    Hi Jim,

    I’m sorry I missed your class on Oct 29, 2014 due to flu. Will homework 2 remain the same as in the course page: ?http://dotnet.tech.ubc.ca/CourseWiki/index.php?title=IP356#Assignment_Two

    Thanks,

    Albert.

Leave a Reply

