IP491F14A HTML5 2: The Semantic Web – Session Four Notes

HTML5 logo
Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our final session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

4 thoughts on “IP491F14A HTML5 2: The Semantic Web – Session Four Notes

  1. Maga says:

    Although we didn’t actually talk about it in class, I was really surprised by the facts presented in the “Sustainable Web Design” article. Somehow I had never thought or read about the internet’s carbon footprint! This article made me think. I’m not a web developer but I’m going to look again at the small charity website I run in WordPress and at least check the size of my images… And knowing that mobile data is particularly polluting, I will think twice before I mindlessly start surfing the web while on the bus…

    As to the most valuable thing that happened for me in class, I would say learning about CSS media queries. Now I know about the “magic” behind the tricks I’ve seen on some websites! It looks like a lot of additional work so I will appreciate pages that use media queries more. And if I ever end up creating a web page, I will try to use them myself.

    What do I want to know? How do forms end up sending data and where does this data go to? Perhaps I missed this in class? I will try to read up on it as I’m not clear at all how it happens.

  2. rodmonk says:

    I quite enjoyed Session 4 of the Semantic Web course, particularly the discussion of Session and Local Storage. Of course, there is so much material to cover, which means that we were only touching the surface of a number of things; nevertheless, an actual presentation of possibilities can sometimes be a good thing (as it was in this case).

  3. Koosha K. Nia says:

    I really excited in graphical tools. I didn’t know that there are these easy tools (canvas, SVG,…) are available and we can use them in our websites. I always thought that for graphic and animation, we should force user to install a plug-ins on her/his own computer.
    I think we learned too much separate articles and tools. I am happy with variety of them, and may spend next month to practice all of them one by one.

  4. James Chan says:

    Highlights / Metacognition
    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    Learning about session and local storage

    What did you learn from that?

    How each differs from each other and also from cookies

Leave a Reply

