IP356F14A JavaScript – Session Three Notes

Consider this picture.
Learning CycleJavaScript logo

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our third session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

12 thoughts on “IP356F14A JavaScript – Session Three Notes

    • rodmonk says:

      Yes, thanks Jim. As you said in class, the extent of the JavaScript is long since done and finished long before you would normally need to be worrying about using too much memory. Nevertheless, the information you are pointing to here is good to know, just in case I am ever in a extreme situation (and, as you know, if you work in a given area long enough, you will indeed encounter such an extreme situation). I once worked on a project were we had to write our own memory allocation as the ‘out-of-the-box’ C++ allocator was not up to the task.

      Rod.

  1. Qi Liu says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    The most valuable thing was that I learned document.getElementById Method, and innerHTML and value properties.

    What did you learn from that?
    The HTML elements’ id attributes is needed in this function. If multiple elements have the same id, getElementById function only returns a reference to the first element.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    It is really convenient to access the value of the input and manipulate the HTML pages.

    Questions?

    Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
    Could we have more examples on “this” key word?

    • JimUBC says:

      Hi Sam,
      Do you have an example of something you are trying to do or understand using the “this” keyword? Can you put something into jsbin and post a link to that?
      Thanks.

  2. Remy Vaillancourt says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    -I could finally figure out why all my testing was not working during my homework last week. I was always putting my function in the head instead of the footer. Now I can’t finally make works my function!

    What did you learn from that?

    -I learn that a web page is read from the top to the bottom, so if you put your function in the head and your form is in the body, it may not find the function to apply. If you put it in the footer, after you need to fill up the form, then the function will read it.

    What will you do with that knowledge?

    -As I was explaining, now I will be able to pass on an other step in my understanding of the Javascript. I can’t wait to apply more complexed function.

    Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?

    -I’m still uncomfortable with some concepts of the getElementbyid. I’m not sure I understand the difference between the name of the function and the identification of that same function.

    What could we have done better?

    -Well, the pace of the class is going very fast, but I understand we only have 4 classes to complete the course. I think this course should be at least 6 classes and put more accent on the development of the JavaScript language….personal opinion

  3. rodmonk says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Rod>> The information in around the subject of ‘getElementById’ and sundry.

    What did you learn from that?
    Rod>> For the first time I was able to see how JS can be used to change page content.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    Rod>> Right now, nothing, as I am still in information-collecting mode. I am anxious to see how jQuery figures into all of this.

    Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
    Rod>> I read up on all the information about Statements, Functions, and Expressions and Operators and the biggest lingering question in my mind is what is the recommended way for using try…catch blocks. Use them everywhere and consistently? or use them only sparingly in extreme situations? A an error caught, what should we do with the information? Record it to console (log)? Something else?

    What could we have done better?
    Nothing.

  4. Alex says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    -Learning about getElementById
    What did you learn from that?
    -That we can display messages that was submitted on the page directly
    What will you do with that knowledge?
    -Help Bart Simpson get out of detention faster 😉

    Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
    -More on what we can do with JavaScript
    What could we have done better?
    -maybe a bit more time and examples with getElementbyid

  5. Jason says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    The .innerHTML property combined with .getElementById() seems very useful. Also += is something I am glad to be learning. These lessons are STARTING to help my brain make sense of how to approach dissecting existing js or jQuery that I’m dealing with in every day life (work).

    As always, time goes by so fast in these type of classes, The only thing I’d change is maybe being asked to come up with an example of something specific that I could use at work and then be able to learn how in class?

    Jay

  6. Albert says:

    Thank you Jim for recommending JSBIN as an online editor. i used it regularly in the CSS class as well as sometimes in my work. In PHP, the complex stuff I would use localhost or a dev server, but the simple things I would use an online editor similar to JSBIN. Many thanks.

  7. Madeline G says:

    Combining our knowledge on the array with getElementById on the practice question was useful. It gave me a better understanding about the code and how to write it. I have used what I have learned in my homework assignment. I’m looking forward to learning about jQuery and about how it can be used.

  8. robertrleung says:

    Q. What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    A. The additional exposure to JSBIN.

    Q. What did you learn from that?
    A. JSBIN is a great tool for debugging.

    Q. What will you do with that knowledge?
    A. Test code using JBSIN.

    Q. Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
    A. How to work with data in databases.

    Q. What could we have done better?
    A. Offer some examples of when to use an array when developing for the web.

Leave a Reply

