IP356F14A JavaScript – Session Four Notes

Reminder – the next course in this series is IP492F14A HTML5 3: Building Dynamic Experiences with JavaScript   It starts next Tuesday. Please register for this course by this Thursday.

Consider this picture.
Learning CycleJavaScript logo

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our last session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our last session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

10 thoughts on “IP356F14A JavaScript – Session Four Notes

  1. James Chan says:

    Highlights / Metacognition
    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    Discussing javascript being written in ‘strict’ mode.

    What did you learn from that?

    It might take a bit longer to made your code ‘strict’, but it has its benefits.

    What will you do with that knowledge?

    Look to code in strict format to ‘future’ proof my code

    Questions?

    Now that we’ve had our last session, what do you want to know?

    More advanced javascript techniques and demonstrations

  2. rodmonk says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Rod>> My first encounter with jQuery.

    What did you learn from that?
    Rod>> Lots of new possibilities.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    Rod>> I am mentally designing a revamp of a website, so mostly I am still collecting information.

    Questions?
    Rod>> No.

    What could we have done better?
    Rod>> I think I said somewhere before that I thought the pace of the course could have been a bit brisker. Instead of presenting programming concepts like they were new, just present them like they are a variation of whatever programming language was used in the prerequisite course (it seems that everyone should have already encountered the concept of ‘programming’ already).

  3. Madeline G says:

    Getting a general understanding of the structure of jQuery and what you need to do to make it work was helpful for me. Looking at the jqueryui.com library of applications showed me that there are so many things you can accomplish with jQuery! I’m making a personal website and will be using jQuery to improve the user interface with a scrolling plugin.

    Thanks very much for the class and your help over the last four weeks.

  4. Remy Vaillancourt says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    -I could finally understand what was all the buzz about Jquery. It is really fantastic.

    What did you learn from that?

    -I learn that I will be able to spend more time on other things that the JavaScript language! Of course Jquery need some understanding of the concept but it will definitely save some time.
    What will you do with that knowledge?

    With that knowledge I’m interested to learn more about Jquery but the problem is that the course is not included in the Multimedia and Web development certificate, which doesn’t make any sense to me,

    Questions?

    Now that we’ve had our last session, what do you want to know?

    As I mention earlier, I want to learn more about Jquery but I want to use my new JavaScript knowledge with some google application for work.

    What could we have done better?

    So far, I can’t think about something who could have been done better.

  5. Qi Liu says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    The most valuable things are that I learned the difference between string variable and string object, and also it is good to know a brief instruction to jQuery.

    What did you learn from that?
    It is good distinguish objects and variables when programming for future use, even though sometimes objects methods can be used on variables by most browsers.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    With the help of jQuery, I probably could make my webpages more attractive. My concern is if jQuery libraries work under “strict mode”. I think I have to program more strictly when building my own library.

    Questions?

    Now that we’ve had our last session, what do you want to know?&What could we have done better?
    This is a great course for introducing JavaScript. What I want to know more in this course is a little bit introduction of how HTML, CSS and JavaScript work together.

  6. robertrleung says:

    Q. What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    A. The introduction to jQuery and jQuery UI.

    Q. What did you learn from that?
    A. jQuery libraries can make development a lot simpler and faster.

    Q. What will you do with that knowledge?
    A. Start developing with a bit of jQuery.

    Q. Now that we’ve had our last session, what do you want to know?
    A. More about JavaScript for mobile devices.

    Q. What could we have done better?
    A. Perhaps we could have reviewed more examples of how JavaScript is popularly used today.

  7. Albert says:

    Q. What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    A. The introduction to jQuery and jQuery UI.

  8. Robert says:

    Jim,

    I didn’t receive confirmation that you received my final assignment. Can you please let me know?

    Thanks you.

  9. Jason says:

    For me the obvious most valuable thing was understanding what jQuery is. I wasn’t able to tell where Javascript began and where jQuery began, but now I have a better understanding of what’s what and when to use each. Going forward, in the line of work I am currently in, I will definitely learn more about jQuery and how to use it. However, I wouldn’t be able to know what I’m now looking for had I not been taught the basics of javascript. I’m definitely going to take th jQuery course in the next few months. Thanks for a great class 🙂 Jay

Leave a Reply

