IP352W15A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session One Notes

Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our first session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

9 thoughts on “IP352W15A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session One Notes

  1. Sherry says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    – What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight? Learning how the different components of the Web work together through the restaurant example.
    – What did you learn from that? It helped me see the big picture better, understand what each component does and, how they communicate with each other.
    – What will you do with that knowledge? I will pay more attention to what goes on in the back-end as well as the front-end when I’m using the Web.

    Questions?

    – Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know? I want to learn more about the Web and to get more comfortable with the process.
    – What could we have done better? It was a great class. I can’t think of anything that we could have done better.

  2. Nailisa says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Having all the components of the Web linked together in that diagram.
    What did you learn from that?
    Beforehand, I had a really rudimentary understanding of the way the web worked and what all those pieces were, but this helped to put them together in my head and make the model more concrete.
    What will you do with that knowledge?
    When my coworkers in systems are talking about various steps or processes in that diagram, I’ll be able to understand better how they fit into the bigger picture.

    Questions?
    Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    I’d like to know more about this distinction you made between ‘programming’ and ‘coding’. Programming as nothing more than problem solving seems a little too broad to be useful so I’d like to see where you’re going with that.
    What could we have done better?
    I never found out what assets were in the restaurant metaphor! I am going to assume they are the little decorative garnish on the side of the food.

  3. Hongyun Sun says:

    Highlights / Metacognition
    =======================
    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Having a big picture of how the Internet works.
    What did you learn from that?
    Knowing how to differentiate between the front end and the back end.
    What will you do with that knowledge?
    It will help me troubleshooting when there is trouble to access a website, for example, knowing where to look for problems, front end or back end.

    Questions?
    ===========
    Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    I now want to know more about the website development process, both front end and back end.
    What could we have done better?
    It’s already beyond my expectation. I’m sure I will learn a lot from this course, even just learn to use different tools like mediawiki, mind mapping, etc. BTW: I like those mind mapping notes, are you going to show us how to create them?

  4. Jessica Skuk says:

    -What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Realizing that what I’ve thought of as ‘programming’ is really ‘coding’.

    -What did you learn from that?
    That I have much to learn about the back-end of programming and how to better integrate the two.

    -What will you do with that knowledge?
    Try to get as much from this class as possible and do my best to reach conscious competence.

    -Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    I’d like to explore the differences between coding and programming in more detail.

    -What could we have done better?
    Nothing, everything was better than I was expecting given the previous courses I’ve taken.

  5. Margaret says:

    •What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    The “restaurant” diagram helped me see the connection and understand the processes between the browser, server and database.
    •What did you learn from that?
    It will be a long road to become a skilled web developer. Programming is essentially like learning a second language and I bet it takes years to master. A good web developer is like a good car mechanic. Sometimes you have to open the hood and know where to look for issues and how to fix them.
    •What will you do with that knowledge?
    I want to get to the spot where I can say “I know what I know” and leave the “I have no idea what’s going on” spot, so the goal is to pay attention in the class get the most out of it.
    •Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    What is the next step? How do I connect front and with back end?
    •What could we have done better
    Very good session, I am looking forward to more!

  6. Vinci says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    – How different components of the web are integrated. The diagram was incredibly helpful!

    What did you learn from that?
    – Little bits of data are being sent from my browser to other places as I access and navigate the internet.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    – I caught a glimpse of the larger picture and will try to be more mindful about what’s happening as I’m using the internet.

    Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    – Where my other knowledge gaps are! I still feel like I don’t know what I don’t know.

    What could we have done better?
    – It’s fantastic so far! It’s interactive, informative, and fun 🙂

  7. Adam says:

    -What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Having a better understanding of the relationship between programming and coding.

    -What did you learn from that?
    I learned that having programming knowledge is super helpful to being a good web developer.

    -What will you do with that knowledge?
    I want to try and open up a few educational opportunities that I hadn’t thought of before.

    -Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    Nothing in particular, just keep up the good work.

    -What could we have done better?
    I think that as long as we keep going in the direction the class is going it should be a great class.

  8. Ricky says:

    •What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    How all web components all work together to bring you everything you see in your screen on a webpage
    •What did you learn from that?
    How everything is connected together
    •What will you do with that knowledge?
    Have a better understand how back end and front end work

    Questions?
    •Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    I just want to continuing to keep learning
    •What could we have done better?
    So far so good.

  9. Gagandeep says:

    Question:What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Ans: The most valuable thing that I learned how the web services work using specific diagrams and restaurant examples.
    Question: what did you learn from that?
    Ans: I learned how web services work and complete the process in different ways under different conditions.
    Question: what will you do with that knowledge?
    Ans: This knowledge is valuable and will be helpful to take my steps forward to success.
    Question: Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    Ans: I want to learn everything in programming.
    Question: what could we have done better?
    Ans: Everything was better and clear.

Leave a Reply

