IP352W15A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Two Notes

Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our second session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our second session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

6 thoughts on “IP352W15A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Two Notes

  1. Nailisa says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Getting a high-level understanding about the difference between compiled programming and scripting. I knew about specific examples or behaviours of scripting languages, but didn’t know what the difference was on this conceptual level. Your metaphors made sense to me.
    What did you learn from that?
    I got a sense of in what situations you might employ those two different types of programs.
    What will you do with that knowledge?
    With that information, I will have a reference point to approach any new information or knowledge I gain about compiled programming languages or scripting languages, and can keep the image of lego vs. duplo in my mind when I decide what tools to use and what to use them for.

    Now that we’ve had our second session, what do you want to know?
    Now that I understand compiled vs scripting programming at this this high level, I would appreciate some concrete examples of what each kind of program is capable of doing and different ways that you would approach a specific problem with each kind. I’d like to know more about what situations you’d use each type in–while you hinted at the answer to this, I want examples!
    What could we have done better?
    I don’t feel like I have a good handle on high level vs. low level abstractions.

  2. Hongyun Sun says:

    Highlights / Metacognition
    =====================
    • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    In last night’s class, the picture of Geeks and Repetitive Tasks impressed me the most. Which reminds me one of my senior programmer colleague, he tends to write scripts to solve almost any problems, either is a database query or combine data from different files, etc. I admire him for that, but I always think it’s unnecessary to do that since a lot of those tasks can be easily done through other ways. But now understand that’s what makes him an expert in programming.
    • What did you learn from that?
    Laziness, impatience, and hubris can be a good thing. When working with customers, I need to be patient, but when talking about programming, I should learn to become impatient, especially when I’m doing some repetitive tasks, I should challenge myself more to automate the task.
    • What will you do with that knowledge?
    Train myself to think like a programmer, whenever possible, automate the task.

    Questions?
    ===========
    • Now that we’ve had our second session, what do you want to know?
    I want to know everything, from front end to backend programming. I know I can’t be an expert for everything, but because I’m a systems administrator, I need to know everything to help me troubleshooting. I also want to know how to learn a programming language fast 🙂
    • What could we have done better?
    This is already the most intense course I’ve registered with Continuing Studies 🙂 I like the format and so far so good.

  3. Margaret says:

    •What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    I really liked learning about the concepts of normalized vs. denormalized data and how they function in programming. I appreciated the pizza metaphor and it made sense to me.

    •What did you learn from that?

    I would like to learn more about database set up/manipulation and how to connect it with the front end.

    •What will you do with that knowledge?
    As I am curious by nature, I want to learn more about the relationship between normalized vs. denormalized databases, how they interact. What are the ways of manipulating the data within denormalized environment? I’d like to see some examples.

    Questions?
    •Now that we’ve had our second session, what do you want to know?
    I feel like I learn most effectively through hands-on examples and it wold be nice to see a couple during the upcoming sessions.
    •What could we have done better?
    More homework!!! (jk)

  4. Sherry says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    – What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight? The real life examples and their similarities to the Web made the class more fun and interactive.
    – What did you learn from that? It was a reminder to see the big picture better.
    – What will you do with that knowledge? It’s easy to lose focus and get caught up with finer details when you’re working on a project at work. I’ll make sure to think more abstract and ask myself why things work the way they do.

    Questions?

    – Now that we’ve had our second session, what do you want to know? Keep the examples coming. They are a great way to see things better.
    -What could we have done better? The class was very informative. It’s great to see that you really care about teaching and that you make sure that students understand what you are talking about.

  5. Vinci says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    – The internet is stateless (without memory) and that information are carried in mechanisms of state.

    What did you learn from that?
    – Memory is a valuable commodity and sometimes it makes sense to have the ‘user’ carry that information with them so it doesn’t incur any cost to the server. But that information may not be relevant when the ‘user’ requests the server at some later time.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    – Hopefully it’ll come in handy when I pick up programming!

    Now that we’ve had our second session, what do you want to know?
    – What are some examples of mechanisms of state? How do I know what is stored and what information is being reveal to the server?

    What could we have done better?
    – So far so good 🙂

  6. Ricky says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    What I really enjoyed was learning about normalized vs. denormalized and hows it’s applied in the world of programming.

    What did you learn from that?
    I learned that the back end (normalized) and front end (denormalized) have a really unique relationship in terms of showcasing the final product to the client/customer

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    I have a much better understanding of the relationship between back end (normalized) and front end (denormalized). I just want to know they communicate between each other.

    Now that we’ve had our second session, what do you want to know?
    So far I’m learning a lot. Let’s continue at the pace please

    What could we have done better
    So far so good

Leave a Reply

