IP352W15A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Five Notes

Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our fifth session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our fifth session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

7 thoughts on “IP352W15A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Five Notes

  1. Hongyun Sun says:

    Highlights / Metacognition
    ======================
    • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Understand the difference between class and object. Get a further understanding of concepts like encapsulation, polymorphism, properties, and methods. But I’m still a little bit confused about polymorphism and inheritance. My understanding is that polymorphism only happens in a subclass that share the same properties or methods, while inheritance also happens in a subclass which has different properties or methods from its superclass. OK, as I’m writing this paragraph, I think I may get it now. Polymorphism happens between subclasses, while inheritance is between a class and its subclass.
    • What did you learn from that?
    Know how object oriented programming works. It will help if I need to program in OOP.
    • What will you do with that knowledge?
    Programming?

    Questions?
    =========
    • Now that we’ve had our fifth session, what do you want to know?
    What’s the most popular programming language nowadays? I usually learn whatever language needed at work by google. What’s the best online resources? I remember you mentioned MDN, what else?

  2. vinciau says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Visualizing encapsulation and learning about how browsers and serves can have or mimic state by relaying information back and forth.

    What did you learn from that?
    What will you do with that knowledge?

    Questions?

    Now that we’ve had our fifth session, what do you want to know?
    What could we have done better?

  3. Vinci says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Visualizing encapsulation and learning about how browsers and serves can have or mimic state by relaying information back and forth.

    What did you learn from that?
    Encapsulation is the bundling and ‘carrying’ of methods and properties in/of an object whereas polymorphism is how methods or functions can create the ‘same outcome’ even though they may do it differently–depending on the object itself.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    Well I gained a better understanding of OOP and it’s capabilities. Hopefully this knowledge will assist me as I learn more programming languages.

    Questions?

    Now that we’ve had our fifth session, what do you want to know?
    Not sure… At this point, I’m inspired to just play around with code. I feel like I can spend forever just mulling over how to go about doing something. I guess my question would be, if I had a silly idea for what I think could be a simple program, how do I go about planning or mapping out how I should write it I don’t want it to be an endless time sink?

    What could we have done better?
    It was pretty thorough and well done.

  4. Margaret says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    I think I understand the concepts of OOP, they make sense to me. I appreciated getting some more in-depth explanations as to when each occurs.
    What did you learn from that?
    If I could compare programming to a jigsaw puzzle, I can say that even though my puzzle picture is still missing most of the pieces, I can finally see partial objects.
    What will you do with that knowledge?
    I would like to explore OOP more.
    Questions? Now that we’ve had our session together, what do you want to know?
    Which programming language that embraces OOP would you recommend to learn first?
    What could we have done better?
    I really enjoyed our last session. I don’t think I have any constructive to add.

  5. Adam says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    I feel I have a better understanding of the concepts of OOP. Object/Class is certainly better understood, and the visualization of polymorphism and encapsulation helped a lot.
    What did you learn from that?
    Polymorphism is basically the program’s ability to process a method or object differently based on which class it’s calling from. I think.
    What will you do with that knowledge?
    I’ll be going deeper into this over the weeks to try to get a better understanding of it. OOP is essential and I still feel like I’ve got a long way to go.
    Questions?
    Now that we’ve had our session together, what do you want to know?
    I’d like to know in particular which front-end languages, aside from html, css, and javascript, would you say are essential?
    What could we have done better?
    The last class was well presented. I appreciated the concern showed so that everyone understood the concepts.

  6. Nailisa says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    The definitions of the concepts we were introduced to at the end of the last class were well-defined and explained with good examples.
    What did you learn from that?
    That I definitely don’t understand concepts best by just reading about them on the internet; classroom learning with dialogue is best for me.
    What will you do with that knowledge?
    Not try to teach myself coding from the internet 🙂

    Questions?
    Now that we’ve had our fifth session, what do you want to know?
    Some more varied examples of Polymorphism to satisfy the questions I had in class
    What could we have done better?
    It was all good!

  7. Sherry says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    – What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight? Using real life examples to explain encapsulation and polymorphism.
    – What did you learn from that? The examples simplified the concepts of polymorphism and encapsulation.
    – What will you do with that knowledge? The examples will help me remember what polymorphism and encapsulation are in case I forget them in the future.

    Questions?

    – Now that we’ve had our fifth session, what do you want to know? I’d like to know more about JavaScript and what to expect in the JavaScript course that starts on Feb 25th.
    – What could we have done better? The class was very insightful. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

