IP352W15A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Six Notes

Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our final session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?
  • How will you get the answers?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

4 thoughts on “IP352W15A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Six Notes

  1. Hongyun Sun says:

    Highlights / Metacognition
    ======================
    • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Practice programming in Visual Studio, understanding how class and inheritance works.
    • What did you learn from that?
    Define a class can simplify programming. It breaks a long piece of code into multiple files, and makes the main code easier to read and understand. Same thing as put CSS codes into a separate file instead of directly put them into HTML header.
    • What will you do with that knowledge?
    Understand the logic behind the program, whenever possible, using object oriented programming skills to break down the program, creating classes/objects to fulfill certain function, which will make the code easy to understand and easy to maintain.

    Questions?
    ===========
    • Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?
    I want to build my own website with HTML5 or Drupal.
    • How will you get the answers?
    Listening to some Lynda.com lessons or use websites like w3schools.com and MDN, but I think most importantly is to start doing it. I usually learn faster by practice.
    • What could we have done better?
    As mentioned above, I usually learn faster through practice, so it could be better if we had more coding practice in class or in home work. Even though the reading materials are good, but I’m not good at writing, so the writing assignments sometimes a bit time consuming to me.

  2. Margaret says:

    Highlights / Metacognition
    •What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    I appreciate the fact that the majority of the class was a hands on code writing practice.
    •What did you learn from that?
    Visual Studio is really a great, versatile environment that can handle not only code writing, but also web and app development.
    •What will you do with that knowledge?
    I am planning on tinkering with it more, perhaps doing some online tutorials. I’ve been using Dreamweaver for most of my projects but now I think I might give Visual Studio a shot.

    Questions?
    •Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?
    I am looking forward to the JavaScript class and get some hands on code writing practice.
    •How will you get the answers?
    I guess the answers come with practice, so in addition to the class I am planning on doing some online tutorials.
    •What could we have done better
    It was a great course. I enjoyed it. Thank you!

  3. Sherry says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    – What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight? Learning more about Javascript and coding in it.
    – What did you learn from that? It helped me learn the syntax better.
    – What will you do with that knowledge? I am going to use what I have learnt from this session in my Javascript course starting on Feb 25th!
    Questions?

    – Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know? I want to learn more about Javascript.
    – How will you get the answers? I’m sure I will in the upcoming Javascript course. I am looking forward to it!
    – What could we have done better? The class was great. Thank you for all that you taught us!

  4. Vinci says:

    Highlights / Metacognition
    •What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Creating human classes and objects in Visual Studio
    •What did you learn from that?
    Gave me a better sense of how to make objects, classes, and ‘get/set’ functions.
    •What will you do with that knowledge?
    Create a small creative project by making little ‘humans’ as a way to practice coding

    Questions?
    •Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?
    Learn specific coding languages and hopefully apply all that I’ve learned!
    •How will you get the answers?
    The resources provided in class and that we found on our own. JS bin would certainly help because I can send my code to other programmers who can assist.
    •What could we have done better
    It was fantastic! I found the homework to be very helpful.

Leave a Reply

