IP356W15A JavaScript – Session Three Notes

Consider this picture.
Learning CycleJavaScript logo

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our third session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

7 thoughts on “IP356W15A JavaScript – Session Three Notes

  1. Daqi says:

    Daqi says:
    Highlights / Metacognition

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Learned different ways to call same function on an event (such as click).

    What did you learn from that?
    The following two way of calling showTime function has a slightly different behavious:
    document.getElementById(“element”).onclick=showTime; (works fine when calling inside another click funtion)
    element.addEventListener(“click”, function () {showTime;} (Only works for the first time click inside another click function)

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    I can apply the knowledge to my web developer job.

    Questions?
    Now that we’ve had our second session, what do you want to know?
    Jquery for the next session

    What could we have done better?
    I’m satisfied with the knowledge I received for our second session.

  2. Sherry says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    – What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight? Learning more about event handlers.
    – What did you learn from that? It gave me a better understanding of how event handlers work in JavaScript.
    – What will you do with that knowledge? I am excited to play around with them.

    Questions?

    – Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know? I’d like to learn more about shortcuts and tricks that would help me become better at JavaScript.
    – What could we have done better? It was a great class. I found it helpful to go through lots of examples. Thanks!

  3. Nailisa says:

    The jQuery page is down! http://learn.jquery.com/javascript-101/closures/

    Highlights / Metacognition
    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Learning what we can do with IDs, tags, and classes.
    What did you learn from that?
    Another way that integrated HTML with javascript and a few more things we can do with that; a better way to manipulate your data.
    What will you do with that knowledge?
    Think more about what IDs, tags, and classes I’m using when I write HTML.

    Questions?
    Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
    I am very curious to see a page that implements unobtrusive javascript well. I am also curious to see how much browser-specific javascript you could possibly put into a page to the point where it would be unreadable for someone in another browser. I remember in the late 1990s when websites would tell you you had to have IE instead of netscape navigator on their splash pages, but I thought most browsers were pretty stable/comparable these days.
    What could we have done better?
    Everything was good; I’m more just idly wondering about these things….

  4. Margaret says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Manipulation of divs through event handlers and creating dynamics with setting .innerHTML.
    What did you learn from that?
    I learned that a simple code can set the dynamics going on the web. I find that I still need a visual reference at this stage in order to write my own code.
    What will you do with that knowledge?
    I will try to turn my static web pages that I created in the past into more dynamic ones as a practice.

    Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
    I had a sneak-a-peek at the next session and I saw that we are going to talk a bit about JQuery. I’d like to find how it can make our scripting lives simpler.
    What could we have done better?
    I found that there was a lot of material covered during the last session. I think that perhaps stretching the whole course and the amount of material covered into five or six sessions instead of four would work better for rookies like me. Other than that, as always, great work!

  5. Elaya says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    – What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight? Learning about JS Bin.
    – What did you learn from that? It’s a convenient tool to quickly preview your coding on the spot.
    – What will you do with that knowledge? I am excited to play around with it.

    Questions?

    – Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
    More shortcuts for javascript code if there are available, in order to reduce the amount we would have to write.
    – What could we have done better? Nothing I can think of, everything was good.

  6. jskuk says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight? Learning how to manipulate my HTML with .innerHTML and identifiers.

    What did you learn from that? I’ve used HTML IDs with CSS, seeing them used with JS has my mind spinning with possibilities.

    What will you do with that knowledge? Explore, test, practice.

    Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know? I want to know how we’re going to integrate jQuery so that we can populate our pages with external data using .innerHTML

    What could we have done better? Class was great, as always, but I agree with Margaret that it could easily be a five or six night course. I feel like we’ll have only scratched the surface.

  7. v.montoya says:

    Now that we’ve had our third session, what do you want to know?
    What could we have done better?
    I personally have a mental block when it comes to learning how to code with a new language predominantly by lecture. I personally think that if we were to write more of the code that we were lectured on, things would make more sense to me. It is kind of like someone telling me how to play basketball, when what I need is to try and play it myself in order to understand the rules. The website guiding the class is an amazingly powerful teaching tool that combines a wealth of examples and tips taken from verified areas of the internet. BUT, I think that the ready-made examples were used too often, as opposed to building them together. I can understand perhaps why it is designed this way as there is just so much to learn and it speeds things up, but I think more typing for key examples would have helped me immensely.

Leave a Reply

