IP352S15A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session One Notes

Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our first session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
  • How will you get the answers?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

5 thoughts on “IP352S15A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session One Notes

  1. Asia says:

    Highlights / Metacognition
    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    The most valuable thing that happened for me tonight was the use of real life examples and diagrams to understand a programming concept.

    What did you learn from that?

    By using the example of the restaurant, I was able to understand the relationship between the browser, web server, scripts, process application server, and database.

    What will you do with that knowledge?

    I will reflect back on the restaurant example if I forget the relationship between these web services. I will also aim to continue drawing diagrams because I am very visual, and I find I learn better by using them.

    Questions?
    Now that we’ve had our session together, what do you want to know?

    I want to learn how to understand and write basic scripts.

    What could we have done better?

    It would’ve been nice to have everyone in the class introduce themselves!

    • Asia says:

      Sorry I seemed to have missed a question and answer.

      How will you get the answers?

      I will attend class, do my readings, and do any additional research to answer my questions.

  2. Newton says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    I think the most valuable thing that happened was I now have a clearer understand of the relationship between the browser and what happens “behind the scenes”. I kind of always had an idea, but it as nice to have my beliefs confirmed and a visual to go with it.

    What did you learn from that?
    I learned that when building a website, there are lot of things to take into consideration. It’s not just about making things look pretty, but function and form have to make sense.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    I definitely will take in use this knowledge when planning a site build. There are so many ways you can approach building a site, pulling content, etc.

    Questions?
    None at this time.

    Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    I want to know how do the different programming languages work together and when to use which language.

    How will you get the answers?
    Research the internet, talk to those do web programming and experiment.

    What could we have done better?
    Nothing really. I thought it was good first day.

  3. Grace says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Learning the relationship between scripting and programming and how that relates to the requests we make of the web.

    What did you learn from that?
    I learned that there is an important difference between asking for only what is already there, and asking for something specifically for you, and how we have managed to get to the point where the latter is more common.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    I will keep this in mind going forward with programming by considering the many different kinds of requests that can be made, and what way a script or program can best handle that.

    Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    I want to know the fundamental points about programming that are useful across all languages.

    How will you get the answers?
    Attending the lecture and noting the points that interest me and start to answer this question, and doing any necessary further research on my own time will help answer this question.

    What could we have done better?
    While metaphors are useful, sometimes they can further conflate an issue, especially if several different metaphors are in operation.

  4. Britt says:

    I think it’s important to combine structure learning with self-reflection. Although the introduction of the Big Picture and other basics was quite helpful for a novice like myself, I’d say that I only grasped 70% of the idea in class, which sort of inspired me to cover the rest of the concepts after class – this part is fun

Leave a Reply

