IP352F15A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session One Notes

Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our first session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
  • How will you get the answers?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

9 thoughts on “IP352F15A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session One Notes

  1. Tess says:

    Highlights / Metacognition
    • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    1) Coming up with the personal examples of the Novice and Expert.
    2) “The Big Picture”

    • What did you learn from that?
    1) I learned that when you do things automatically, you can’t teach someone to do it. You have to mentally slow down and realize that it’s an automatic step for you and you have to find a way to explain it to who you are teaching.
    2) I have a much better understanding of “The Big Picture” in relation to how the Internet works from the browser, through all the steps and back to the browser/consumer.

    • What will you do with that knowledge?
    1) When I am teaching someone how to do something, I will pay more attention to each step I am taking and dig deep to think about which steps that I might miss because they are second nature to me.
    2) I will keep this in mind as I further my web development skills, whether it is specifically in the Front End, Back End or both.

    Questions?
    • Now that we’ve had our first session, what do you want to know?
    There is still a lot that I don’t understand about programming in general and all that it entails, so I want to know more! I often find it hard to see how all the elements and languages of web design/development work together and I want to have more knowledge in this area.

    • How will you get the answers?
    Attending class, doing the homework and interacting with my peers.

    • What could we have done better?
    I’m hoping that next class it will be easier for me to think outside of the box and relate programming to real-life examples, as we were doing in class last night.

  2. beateullrich says:

    My comments about our first session:
    • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    As a design professional (architecture, graphic design), I was always confronted with the duality of, on the one hand, the design and the pleasing appearance of an object or building, and, on the other hand, with its functionality, the construction, and the details beyond the surface that make something work. A building can only be built with the collaboration of different professions (e.g. the engineer, the architect, the craftsmen), not just by one profession alone. I noticed that it happens to be the same with building a website or an app, where both back-end-developers and front-end-developers are needed to make something work.

    • What did you learn from that?
    It is very important to understand how different professions solve problems, and that a solution that works for one profession may cause new problems for another. That is why I am very interested to learn how a programmer’s mind works and how the collaboration with a designer’s mind can be improved.

    • What will you do with that knowledge?
    An expert can easily lose the big picture out of sight. That is why I think it is important to have both a generalist approach and also specialized knowledge. Hence, communication with co-workers and rethinking processes interdisciplinary is essential to work on a project efficiently and, at the same time, to stay focussed on the result.

  3. Megan Daniels says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    -Learning about the structure of the web and how it has changed over the last two decades
    What did you learn from that?
    -All of the complex processes that take place in order to deliver websites, information, commodities, etc. to users
    What will you do with that knowledge?
    -Consider which area of web development interests me most.

  4. Sid Lekhi says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?

    That no matter how technology or the platform has changed over the last 20 years, the fundamentals of programming remain the same.

    What did you learn from that?

    Whether the codes are for stand-alone programs or web-based programs, if the fundamentals aren’t there, the programs will be sloppy and undesirable to users and management.

    What will you do with that knowledge?

    Make sure I understand the basics of programming before learning any language. Learning any language is easy once the fundamentals are understood.

  5. Janice says:

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    -Learning the different ways on how a person that is a novice at something verses how a person that is an expert at something approaches a subject.

    What did you learn from that?
    -A novice and an expert may look at a subject in opposite ways. A novice has limited views whereas an expert can rely on past experiences. However, these scenarios can change and it depends on the individual and how their mindset is.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    -I will keep these ideas in mind for when I have a task to complete. I can look at how much I know about a subject before I start. If it’s something I’m new at, I can research and learn about it first. If it’s something I know, I can follow what I’ve done in the past and improve on it.

  6. adamdipinto says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    1. What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    • I think the most valuable thing we covered this evening was the model of mastery and how there needs to be a balance between competence and consciousness when approaching a problem.

    2. What did you learn from that?
    • As a novice we tend to be narrow minded when trying to solve a problem and aware of it (conscious incompetence). We may not know that there could be multiple way to solve a particular problem due to lack of experience or being overwhelmed with the task at hand. On the other side of the spectrum, when we become an expert of something, we are able to pull from previous experience/mistakes so that when approaching the problem it becomes almost second nature (unconscious competence).

    3. What will you do what that knowledge?
    • I think the best thing to do with this knowledge is to be aware of where I might be within the model of mastery when approaching a new problem. If I land in the conscious incompetence section, to ask for help from someone that has experienced the problem and see what the most important factors are in solving it. If I land in the unconsciously competent section, to stop and re-analyze the steps in solving the problem and approach it so a novice might to see all the steps required.

  7. Wan Qi Jin says:

    Hightlights/ Metacognition
    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for tonight?
    1. Talked about experts and weaknesses
    2. The big picture
    3. Internet Development
    What did you learn from that?
    1. Learned about each others expert and the reason behind their expert.
    2. Learned about the history of website working and web service by comparing and contrasting two “The Big Pictures”
    3. Learned about how information have been delivered through Web servers and the structure of the website
    4. How the transformation of Website relate to today’s society.
    What will you do with that knowledge?
    1. The class brought the big picture of the structure of web and history of web, which gave me basic idea on Web.
    2. Also, I think those knowledge are very useful for me when I design the website.

  8. Highlights:
    Understanding the difference between Back End and Front End. I learned that Back End programming is based on content and organizing raw data, while Front End is more focused on the appearance and presentation of the data.
    I can now say that I am interested in Front End and will want to pursue that further.

    Questions:
    I’d like to know more about how all tools come together in programming. Specifically i’m really interested in learning how the different languages complement each other and what essentials do I have to learn to be able

  9. continuation of “Questions”:
    ” to be able to program effectively”

Leave a Reply

