IP352F16A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Six Notes

Consider this picture.

Learning Cycle

Can you see how this applies to what you are doing before our sessions and while we are together?

Please reply with a comment about our final session.

Highlights / Metacognition

  • What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
  • What did you learn from that?
  • What will you do with that knowledge?

Questions?

  • Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?
  • How will you get the answers?
  • What could we have done better?

If you spot a question from someone else and you can answer it – please do.

5 thoughts on “IP352F16A – Programming Mindset & Mechanics Session Six Notes

  1. Vijayta Mishra says:

    Hi Jim, I was very sick yesterday thought I will be able to make it but couldn’t attend the class. Should I just read the course blog and do my final assignment? Please let me know if there is anything I need to know and submit with assignment 6.

    Thanks so much!
    Sincerely,
    Vijayta MIshra

  2. Maria S says:

    Highlights / Metacognition –

    Q: What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    A: Using Microsoft Visual Studio was very helpful, I heard this is one of the actual programs used in the industry so it was nice to have hands-on experience navigating through it’s tools and features.

    Q: What did you learn from that?
    A: Coding the “What Is Your Name” part was particularly helpful to me, it was motivating and less frustrating to see our actual Javascript function the way it was coded with no errors.

    Q: What will you do with that knowledge?
    A: I may download the free version of VS once I feel more confident with Javascript, coding, etc. The layout/set up kind of reminded me of adobe dreamweaver, it comfortable/user friendly.

    Questions? –

    Q: Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?
    A: More Javascript, more exercises and scenarios to apply the terms we have learned… to help familiarize ourselves more.

    Q: How will you get the answers?
    A: Continuing research, exercises, take additional workshops/classes that focus on Javascript/SQL/ popular programming languages used today.

    Q: What could we have done better?
    A: Have more lab time with the programs we used. I understand we need to get the definitions down first, but doing the javascript equations/exercises in class together personally helped me visualize/understand the concepts better.

    This course was a good preview into programming, thank you Jim!

  3. Sherlaine says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Getting into Microsoft virtual image and learning how to make a website through that process.

    What did you learn from that?
    Seeing the design side but most importantly the code and programming side. How the buttons work and why they do what they do.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    Work on the Microsoft tool more and use what i learned in class to better understand the tools.

    Questions?

    Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?
    I want to learn more javascript and SQL.

    How will you get the answers?
    Practice on codecore.com, they have a section to teach you on javascript and SQL.

    What could we have done better?
    I liked what we did in our last class where we practiced on microsoft virtual image and talked about the concepts that we did in class. That helped me understand better because i was seeing what i was doing.

    Thans for a great class Jim!! Very informative for such a short period of time.

  4. Lauren D. says:

    Highlights / Metacognition

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    Working with the Microsoft Visual Studio was valuable in that it was hands on.

    What did you learn from that?
    I got an idea of what is involved with programming and saw how Javascript is applied.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    I’m sure this experience will inform my future dealings in programming.

    Questions?

    Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?
    Now I would like to figure out what kinds of programming will be useful for me to understand and then how to do some basics.

    How will you get the answers?
    I will seek out online resources once I am finished the certificate program and have the luxury of time to specialize and focus on the things I need to.

    What could we have done better?
    I agree with Sherlaine that a hands on application really helps cement the concepts that we talked about. It’s easier to understand what class, object, encapsulation is when you are actually dealing with those principles.

    Thank you Jim for a fun and informative experience! (and the T-shirts!!!!) I really enjoyed using the Wiki for our notes.

  5. Highlights / Metacognition

    What did you think was the most valuable thing that happened for you tonight?
    I enjoyed having some time in Visual Basic.

    What did you learn from that?
    I find it very confusing but as least I will recognize it when I see it.

    What will you do with that knowledge?
    I will do more research.

    Questions?

    Now that we’ve had our final session, what do you want to know?
    I would like to get to know how to work with Javascript.
    How will you get the answers?
    Tutorials on-line and reading blogs and websites.
    What could we have done better?
    Great job Jim!

Leave a Reply

